Volvo Polestar S60 Dominates at Nürburgring (w/ Video)

Any race at the storied Nürburgring is going to be special- but this weekend’s WTCC double-header turned out to be the best race result ever for Polestar Cyan Racing. How good was this weekend for Volvo’s go-fast division? Try a double victory, a championship lead in bo the drivers’ and constructors’ championships, and a fresh lap record for the boys in blue!

“It was a fantastic race. The car was perfectly set up for the second race and I managed to pull up a gap that enabled me to control the race. This is my favorite circuit and to win here is a true highlight of my career. We are leading the championship now which is our goal and we need to keep it for the rest of the season,” said Volvo racing driver Nicky Catsburg.

Four-time STCC champion Thed Björk fought his way from sixth on the grid to win the first race, elevating him to third position in the championship, just eight points from the points lead.

“I had a really good start and went from sixth to third before the first corner. I had a great race, was able to utilize the slipstream and score one of my best victories. I am very proud to add the Nürburgring to my list of victories after winning at the classic Monza (in Italy) earlier this year,” said Thed Björk.

You can watch the highlights of Volvo’s awesome Memorial Day weekend of Nürburgring results, below.

Cyan Racing Takes Double Win at Nürburgring

Following those results, Polestar Cyan Racing has extended the lead over championship rivals Honda to 40 points. On top of that, Volvo driver Nicky Catsburg recorded the fastest ever lap time of a WTCC car around the 25-kilometer Nordschleife during an official practice session (8:34.813).

Source | Images: Volvo Polestar Cyan Racing.

What do you think?